Each year, the Club awards a number of trophies to members who have distinguished themselves in one way or another. Some of the trophies have a long history and some distinguished past recipients. Diving trophies are presented at the AGM in April, and Photographic trophies during the Christmas Dinner.

Diving Trophies

Tuckerman Sports Trophy

Most Dives in the year. Awarded by the Diving Officer.

MAINE Trophy

Presented by D Cockbill (Chairman 62-65). Awarded by the Chairman for hard work in the club during the year.

Dominic Rowbottom Memorial Knife

Dominic was lost in a diving incident in March 1995. The knife was presented in his memory by Sea & Sea Ltd. Awarded by the Committee for support to the club over the years. 

Kay Tompsett Memorial Trophy

“The first 1st class diver in Torbay”, dated 28th December 1959. Awarded by the Committee for the Best Lady Diver. 

Andrew Dalton Trophy

Awarded by the Committee for the Best Trainee.

Wally of the Year Plate

Awarded by last year’s winner for the most spectacular 'cock-up' of the year. 


Photographic Trophies

These trophies are awarded by competition, voted for by Club members during one of the weekly social meetings.

Graham Ford Knife

Best UK waters photograph.  

Tony Aylmer Photograph

Best 'Fun' photograph. Presented by Major A.R Aylmer, 2000. 

Tony Aylmer Cup

Best Foreign waters photograph. Presented by Major A.R Aylmer, February 1974. 

Tony Hellier Barometer

Best Diving Related photograph. 

Tom Dunlop Torch

Best Beginner's photograph. 


Our Address

Torbay BSAC
Unit 0008
Beacon Quay